Love, Stargirl by Jerry Spinelli – Book Bonanza

Dear Readers,

I popped into the library the other day, and was surprised to see the sequel to Stargirl (which was in My Top 5 Best Books of 2014 post). I was a bit overexcited when I saw it, loving the first book so much, so here is my review on Love, Stargirl…


Title: Love, Stargirl

Author: Jerry Spinelli

Publisher: Knopf Books

Genre: Romance

Pages: 274

Plot

Love, Stargirl picks up a year after Stargirl ends and reveals the new life of the beloved character who moved away so suddenly at the end of Stargirl. The novel takes the form of “the world’s longest letter,” in diary form, going from date to date through a little more than a year’s time. In her writing, Stargirl mixes memories of her bitter-sweet time in Mica, Arizona, with involvements with new people in her life.

Characters

In this books, it is written from the point of view of Stargirl, instead of Leo, like the first book. I must add, I very much preferred Stargirl to Leo. Although she is only 16, she is quite old-fashioned in the way she does certain things. Dootsie, who was defiantly my favourite character, is Stargirl’s 6 year old friend. She is very chatty and confidence, and although the complete opposite of myself, I really enjoyed her character!!

Writing

It is kind of in the middle to be honest, not to easy, but not to challenging.

The cover

I don’t usually mention the cover, but I just love the simplicity of it! Its bright, its bold and really stands out on your bookshelf!

Overall I very much enjoyed this book. I think it was a much better read than the first book (Stargirl). I would recommend this for everyone, children, young adults and adults. It is a great duo which will suit everyone. So, I am giving it….

Thank you for reading!

What are your thoughts on Love, Stargirl?

One thought on “Love, Stargirl by Jerry Spinelli – Book Bonanza

  1. I might go to a 3.5 but I think 3 is pretty fair to. It is a classic coming of age story and I read it because my little girl thought the cover was pretty! It is though 🙂 I liked how strong Stargirl was but I felt sad when she caved to peer pressure.

Leave a Reply

