My Top Five Books of 2014 – Book Bonanza

Dear Readers,

Finally 2014 is coming to an end, which gives me the chance to share with you my most loved books throughout this year!

5. Ketchup Clouds by Annabel Pitcher

Blurb – Zoe Collins has a dark and terrible secret that she dares to confess to no one. But one day she hears of a criminal on death row who knows all about secrets. And lies. And betrayal. Desperate to confide in someone Zoe picks up a pen.

These are the letters that she wrote…

Genre – Crime/Romance

Star Rating – 3 and a half stars

When I read this book – I finished it quite recently on the 22nd December.

Brief thoughts on the book –  I really enjoyed the style of writing that Annabel used and how the book was a very original idea. Zoe Collins, the main character, writes letters to a man on death row named Mr Stuart Harris. The point of this is so that Zoe can tell someone the terrible and dark things he has done!  I have already given a wider insight and my thoughts on this book in my previous blog post, which you can find here.

4. Stargirl by Jerry Spinelli

Blurb – After the summer break, a mysterious girl turns up at Leo’s high school called Stargirl. She strums the ukulele at lunch and sings ‘Happy Birthday’ to people when it’s their special day. People at the school think she is a ‘fake’ and a ‘set up’ but they soon discover she is not. She soon becomes popular and people start loving her for being unique and for being herself, but sometimes when you’re unique and stand out from everybody else you are not always admired…

Genre – Young Adult/Romance

Star Rating – 3 and a half stars

When I read this book – On the 10th of April

Brief thoughts on the book – Stargirl is quite a short book (192 pages) but is an enjoyable and fun read. I wouldn’t say this has any age limit because it is quite an easy read. Also I have to mention on the vibrant book cover!! It really stands out on my bookshelf with the bright pink, which is probably one of the reasons I picked it up! Again I did a review of this book back in April, so if you want to know a bit more about the book and my thoughts, click here.

3. The Hobbit by J.R.R Tolkien

Blurb A reluctant hobbit, Bilbo Baggins, sets out to the Lonely Mountain with a spirited group of dwarves to reclaim their mountain home – and the gold within it – from the dragon Smaug.

Genre – Fantasy

Star Rating – I gave this book four Stars

When I read this book – Very recently! I finished yesterday (28th December)

Brief thoughts on the book – To be honest, I wouldn’t have picked this up on my own, but when my brother said I had to read some of the classics, he said I should start with The Hobbit. My tbr pile is so large, I was pretty angry I couldn’t read Cinder by Marissa Meyer (which I have been waiting to read forever!!). But, he did prove me wrong! The writing was exquisite and I cannot wait to read the Lord of the Rings!

2. The Fault in Our Stars by John Green

Blurb – Despite the tumour-shrinking medical miracle that has bought her a few years, Hazel has never been anything but terminal, her final chapter inscribed upon diagnosis. But when a gorgeous plot twist named Augustus Waters suddenly appears at Cancer Kid Support Group, Hazel’s story is about to be completely rewritten

Genre – Romance

Star Rating – I gave this 4 and a half stars

When I read this book –  March 28th

Brief thoughts on the book – I absolutely loved this book. John Green, as always got this book spot on! I loved the characters, my favourite being Augustus Waters. It was gripping, and I read in about 24 hours! I am sure you have heard of it, but if you haven’t read it, I urge you to read it! More thoughts on the book can be found on my blog post here.

Image

1. Divergent trilogy by Veronica Roth

Blurb – The futuristic city of Chicago is divided into five different factions, Abnegation (the selfless), Amity (the peaceful), Candor (the honest), Dauntless (the brave) and Erudite (the intelligent). At the age of sixteen you must choose which faction you wish to stay in or go to for the rest of your life. When it is time for sixteen-year-old Beatrice Prior to chose her ‘rightful place’ in the world, she can’t decide if to choose her family or her own choice. As soon as she has finished her aptitude test, which can help her decide which faction to choose, she is shocked to know she has a secret which she must not tell anyone. When she has chosen her faction  she can trust nobody in this new world, but when she meets one of her instructors Four, she seems to trust him more than anyone else…..

Genre – Dystopia

Star Rating – 4 and a half stars

When I read this book – I read Divergent on the 2nd February, Insurgent on the 25th February, and finally Allegiant on the 1st March,

Brief thoughts on the book – In all three of the books, they were action packed and exciting. It is my favourite trilogy of all time. I just was gripped the whole way though! My favourite character out of all of the books had to be four (played by Theo James in the film ahhhh!!). He was dangerous, hot and in Divergent, I wanted to find out more about him, and what had happened to him as a child. If you take anything away from this blog post, then please read this trilogy if you haven’t already! I cannot praise it highly enough! To find out more about the tree books here are the my reviews:

Divergent, Insurgent, Allegiant, Four-A Divergent Story Collection and the Divergent Film Review.

So there we have it. My top 5 books of 2014. Thank you all for commenting, following and liking my blog this year, and I look forward, to more posts and reading next year!

What are your top 5 books of 2014?

5 thoughts on “My Top Five Books of 2014 – Book Bonanza

  1. I’m intrigued by stargirl… especially as a sucker for a good cover. I enjoyed the divergent series but didn’t enjoy the last one so much. One of my other favourites in the YA category for 2014 was “Eleanor and Park”.
    Happy reading

    • Yeah, I really love the cover too! Its very simple, but extremely clever and creative! Have you read Stargirl? If not you definitely should read it, and is as amazing as its cover! I undertand what you mean about Allegiant, my favourite was the first one. I have just bought Eleanor and Park and am very excited to read it. Thank you for commenting! 🙂

      • I’ve put stargirl on my tbr list. Every Day by David Levithian is also great… review on my blog if you are interested. Happy reading x

Leave a Reply

