BookBaking- The Fault In Our Stars Cake

Recently I went to see the incredible, heart warming (but also breaking) Fault in Our Stars movie. I was overwhelmed and inspired by it, but I have spoken more about this in my review. I was so inspired (and hungry!) that I decided to bake a cake.  It was a heat of the moment decision to bake a cake so here’s my (not the best) attempt at a cake. I have seen a few pictures online with different versions of the cake, but I kind of did my own thing. I do warn you, I am not a baker and not the best chef but I had a lot of fun making it and it tasted amazing! So without further or do, lets get started!!
P1000154
What you will need:
(Just to let you know that i doubled the mixture so that half of the mixture went into one cake tin and obviously the other went into the second cake tin. These measurements seemed too small for the cake, so that’s why I doubled it. The actual cake is a Victoria Sponge and is delicious!!)
Cake Mixture:
175 g of butter/margarine (Doubled=350g)
175g of caster sugar (Doubled=350g)
175g of self-raising flour (Doubled=350g)
3 eggs, beaten (Doubled=6 eggs)
Filling:
Raspberry Jam ( It’s up to you how much you use, I used about 1/4 of a jam pot!)
Butter cream:
75g of butter (I didn’t double the butter cream as I thought it was enough for the middle)
175g of icing sugar
A few drops of vanilla essence (optional)
Blue food coloring (again, optional)
Icing (on top):
Rolled out icing (Black, White and Blue)
Pink Food coloring (Optional)
I know it seems a lot but it gives a very impressive result, I promise you!!
Method:
Grease two 20.5cm sandwich tins and line them with greaseproof paper. Preheat your oven to 190 degrees/gas mark 5.

P1000174

  Add your butter and caster sugar into a mixing bowl and mix until light and fluffy.P1000162
In a separate bowl beat your eggs and the proceed to add them little at a time and beat well after adding to the mixture. P1000165

When beaten well, then add your self-raising flour and sieve into the bowl. Fold this in ( a figure of 8) into the mixture.
P1000172When you have thoroughly mixed all of the ingredients, divide the mixture evenly into the two greased sandwich tins and put in the oven for 15-20 mins.

P1000173

P1000179

P1000181 When cooled prepare your butter icing by mixing your butter and icing sugar. If you want, you can add vanilla essence to give it a bit more flavour and I added a small amount of blue food coloring to match the blue them of the cover of the book.

P1000185

P1000187

P1000195
On top of the cake I put icing to make kind of the book cover. I covered the top of the cake with blue and then I cut out to clouds (one black and one white). I also made a pink circle( by putting a small amount of pink food coloring into the white icing and kneading through, to give it the pink color) and wrote J. G (John Green). I also wrote Okay? Okay. on the clouds which is one of the most famous quotes from the film. Of course you can use any words from the book/film and design it yourself!

P1000182

P1000200
I really enjoyed making this cake, and although it was a little wonky, I was quite proud of myself. if you have any questions about making the cake or the ingredients, please don’t hesitate to ask in the comments below! Thank you so much for reading and I hope you enjoyed this post. If you do decide to make this cake, be sure to email me a picture ( my email address is on my contact page here).

P1000203

4 thoughts on “BookBaking- The Fault In Our Stars Cake

Leave a Reply

