The Fault In Our Stars Movie Review

The Fault in our stars came out a lot earlier than in the UK so when I saw several vlogs on youtube called ‘TFIOS movie review’ or ‘TFIOS movie premiere’ I was scared to watch them, thinking it might spoil it for me. Obviously I have read the book (my book review is here), but I have been looking forward to it so much, I wanted to experience everything when it actually came out in my country, if that makes sense. When it finally came out in the UK, I went on the second day it came out with my friends and WOW just WOW!!

Image

The cast:

Hazel: Shailene Woodley

Image

Augustus: Ansel Elgort

Image

Isaac: Nat Wolff

Image

Peter Van Houten: Willem Dafoe

Image

Monica: Emily Peachey

Image

This is just a few of the main characters. Shailene (Hazel) played her character beautifully! It was exactly how I imagined Hazel to act and and I think this was mainly because John Green was on the set for the duration of the filming. I loved her in Divergent, but in TFIOS I thought she was even better!! To be honest, I thought that Ansel (Augustus) was not going to be a very good for the role of Augustus but he was just amazing. He really did justice to the character and that wink ahhhhh (fangirling)!! My favorite character though was Isaac! He was just how I imagined him, funny, humorous and the scene when he breaks Gus’s basketball trophies was really hilarious! The casting was really well done.

Was it a good interpretation of the book?

Yes! It was so close to the book it was just so great! The start of the film was the exact words of the start of the book which was sooooo good! I was so glad it was so similar to the book, and I am sure all of the fans of the book were too!

Overall it was such a good film. It was so emotional that I cried as soon as the title came on. I think this happened because I was so overwhelmed but the whole idea of the film and how amazing the book was. My favorite part of the film would probably be the part when they are having a romantic meal in Amsterdam  and my favorite quote is:

“I’m in love with you,” he said quietly.

“Augustus,” I said.

“I am,” he said. He was staring at me, and I could see the corners of his eyes crinkling. “I’m in love with you, and I’m not in the business of denying myself the simple pleasure of saying true things. I’m in love with you, and I know that love is just a shout into the void, and that oblivion is inevitable, and that we’re all doomed and that there will come a day when all our labor has been returned to dust, and I know the sun will swallow the only earth we’ll ever have, and I am in love with you.”

Ahhhh fangirling over here still! I am going to give it a 4 3/4 stars which is really high I know, but it was just ….amazing! If you have not had the chance to see this yet please do, because ahhh it was incredible!

Image

Thank you so much for reading! I hope you enjoyed it and if you did then please like, follow for more posts and comment what you thought!!

Love Amelia xx

What were your thoughts on this amazing film?

4 thoughts on “The Fault In Our Stars Movie Review

  1. I’m so scared to watch this, actually! I mean, yeah, I read the book already and I know what’s going to come, but I’m scared. I don’t want to say goodbye to HIM again. I have a feeling ti’s far more emotional in movie form, and I’ll be eating snot in the movie because of how much I’ll be crying. If ever I go, it has to be with someone else too so I can let them hold me while I ugly cry. Amazing review, by the way!

    Faye at The Social Potato Reviews

    • Thank you very much! I actually went with a group of my friends and we all collapsed on each other crying!! I know what you mean that you don’t want to lose him, it’s really hard all over again! X

  2. YEAH! I’m so glad you enjoyed it so much Amelia! That’s great! 😀 I’ve been planning to see it for a while now, but never really found the time, but I guess your praise will be my initiative, right? 😉 Thanks for sharing, and, as always, BRILLIANT movie review! <33

    • Thank you so much for you comment, it has definitely put a big smile on my face :)! You need to see it, it is the best book to movie take I have ever seen! To prepare yourself, you will need:
      Tissues (boxes)
      Friends to cry on
      Oh, and don’t wear make-up, (mistake I took!) as people may mistake you for a panda 😉 xx

Leave a Reply

