‘May the odds be ever in your favour…’

When I started reading teen fiction, the first book I read was The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins. At the time it was nowhere as big as it is now and I fell straight in love with it! Of course from then on i discovered so many other amazing books (DIVERGENT!!)  but The Hunger Games has always stayed in my ‘Top Ten books!’.

Title: The Hunger Games

Author: Suzanne Collins

Pages: 454

Genre: Dystopia/Sci-Fi

Publisher: Scholastic

Image


WINNING WILL MAKE YOU FAMOUS.

LOSING MEANS CERTAIN DEATH.

In a dark vision of the near future, twelve boys and twelve girls are forced to appear in a live TV show called the Hunger Games. There is only one rule: kill or be killed. When sixteen-year-old Katniss Everdeen steps forward to take her sister’s place in the games, she sees it as a death sentance. But Katniss has been close to death before. For her, survival is second nature.

Plot:

WOW! This is just the best part of the book in my eyes as it is really exciting and I honestly couldn’t put it down. I wanted to read it just non-stop for the whole day because I wanted Katniss to be okay and the win the games. It shows to you that even is life is the toughest and harsh, people still will do anything (including death) to get food, water and mainly to survive.  Although the idea of killing other people to stay alive in order to win the games and the only rule is do anything to be victorious is about eww I found this to be really thrilling and exciting whilst reading it!   Am I selling it to you yet!!?

Characters:

My favorite character was Rue because she just seemed really nice!The short but amazing friendship between Rue and Katniss I feel is really special and heart-warming. I won’t spoil it for you but just read it to find out. I also loved Katniss because she seemed so brave and to ‘volunteer as tribute’ in such a horrific, terrifying event  was so brave and courageous!

Overall:

Overall this book is just incredible!! The plot is amazing the character all have their own personality (whether good or bad!) and it’s just one of those ‘must read books’. I know its a bit weird but I also love the cover of the book. the little mocking jay pin is so lovely with the arrow (which always inspires me haha). If you haven’t read this book or are just entering the wonderful world of teen fiction or even books I urge you to read the book.  I get really annoyed when people often say ‘but I have watched the movie, so why should I read the book’. Although the movie was great and very accurate, when you read the book there is a lot more detail and you fall ,much deeper into Katniss’s story. The star rating I am going to give this book is 4.5 because of how much I loved it.

Image

I hope I have sold this book to you and have fun reading!

Thanks so much for reading! If you did enjoy it please hit that like and follow button and also comment below (I like a good chat)!!

Amelia xx

Who was you favorite character in the book?

2 thoughts on “‘May the odds be ever in your favour…’

  1. I agree, I really liked this book too. I borrowed all three books in the series from my friend so I’ve always wanted my own copies 😛 I’m really impressed by the movies too, although they changed some things. My favorite character was probably Katniss but you really can’t beat the Rue/Katniss relationship you mentioned.

    • Yes, I love having my own copies and adding to my collection, haha! Usually main characters aren’t my favorite characters, but I defiantly can see what you mean about Katniss! 🙂

Leave a comment