Paper Towns by John Green-Review

Title: Paper Towns

Author: John Green

Genre: Modern Fiction

Number of pages: 305

Publisher: Bloomsbury

After reading the wonderful Fault in Our Stars I went to my local bookshop and picked up the first John Green book I laid eyes on….

Image

Next door to Quentin Jacobson lives Margo Roth Spiegelman. Ever since Margo and Quentin found a man dead in their local park at the age of nine, they have never quite recovered! After Elementary school Margo and Quentin don’t really talk at school, just exchange looks but when Quentin and Margo are soon to graduate at high school Margo climbs into Quentin’s window and they go on a adventure that night never to be forgotten. Although when Q goes to school the next day feeling tired and exhausted Margo is no where to be seen. He must follow the small clues back to Margo…


 

Characters:

The characters in this book I think are portrayed very well. Everyone is different, unique and has their own personality. This is my favorite part about the book because it makes me feel like I can be whoever I want to be! My favorite character in this book is Lacey. Although she may be quite arrogant at times I really like the way she left her popular friends and joined Quentin’s group.

Plot:

I thought the idea and concept of the book was very good but I did think it could have been a lot more interesting at the end of the book as it was a big lead up for not the most exciting ending. 

Writing:

I really liked the way this book was written as it gripped me throughout! It was fun and quite an easy read. 


 

Overall it was a good book. It was definitely not as good as the fault in our stars but it had me gripped (like every other book I read!). I would recommend this to all teenagers who enjoy quite down to earth modern fiction. I am more of a dystopia now fantasy (thanks to Alise and her team from http://readerswonderland.com/) fan than modern fiction but I actually really like it! Taking everything into consideration I am giving this a rating of 3 and a half stars!

  Image                          

Thanks so much for reading! I am really sorry my posts aren’t as regular as usual as in Two weeks (Monday 12th May) I have got a week of exams (urrr) so….revise revise revise!! 😦 After my exams my posts will be back to normal. Sorry about this again!  I hope you enjoyed this post and if you did please like, follow and comment below what you thought. Also comment saying any other recommendations of posts, reviews or if you want to see something different on my blog!

Have you read Paper Towns? What were your thoughts?                                                                                                                                                                                       

4 thoughts on “Paper Towns by John Green-Review

  1. “I am more of a dystopia now fantasy” Mwahaha yes. This was my goal all along. I really want to read this one but John Green is a tough author for me. I loved The Fault but really disliked an Abundance of Katherines. This does sound pretty good though!

      • Maybe I will get it from the library or something!
        I still would give it a try, I really disliked it because I didn’t really get it but some people loved it!

Leave a Reply

