Divergent by Veronica Roth-Review

So I can finally talk about my favorite book of all time, DIVERGENT!! This is the start of a trilogy of books (which I will be reviewing in the next few days) and it is my personal favorite of all of them! ‘They call it….

Image

The futuristic city of Chicago is divided into five different factions, Abnegation (the selfless), Amity (the peaceful), Candor (the honest), Dauntless (the brave) and Erudite (the intelligent). At the age of sixteen you must choose which faction you wish to stay in or go to for the rest of your life. When it is time for sixteen-year-old Beatrice Prior to chose her ‘rightful place’ in the world, she can’t decide if to choose her family or her own choice. As soon as she has finished her aptitude test, which can help her decide which faction to choose, she is shocked to know she has a secret which she must not tell anyone. When she has chosen her faction  she can trust nobody in this new world, but when she meets one of her instructors Four, she seems to trust him more than anyone else…..


 

Characters: 

My favorite character in this book is Christina who is Tris’s (Beatrice’s new name for her new faction) best friend throughout her initiation. I think she is a dark horse throughout the trilogy and is always a helpful and loyal friend to Tris. My least favorite character in this book has to be Peter. If you have read this book you will probably agree with me because he is very cruel throughout Tris’s initiation and at one point he even tries to kill her!!

Style of writing:

I wouldn’t say this is the best style of writing and although the book is long (487 pages) it isn’t very challenging.

Plot:

This is my favorite part of the book as it is so action packed and exciting and because of this every second of it I was gripped!! Veronica defiantly did a great job!!

Overall I though this was a great book because of its amazing storyline. If you haven’t read this already I urge you to go and pick it up and just read it! You won’t put it down at all. I give it a star rating of 4.75 (not 5 because its writing lets it down a little). Sorry its cropped a little as I couldn’t find any pictures at the rating of 4.75.

Image

Thanks for reading! If you did enjoy this post please follow and like and comment. I hope you enjoyed it!

p.s This week I am posting all about Divergent where I will be reviewing the next two books in the series and finally on Friday the Divergent film.

What was your favorite character in the book?

 

2 thoughts on “Divergent by Veronica Roth-Review

  1. I also really liked Christina’s character in the book. It was sad not seeing much of her in the movie :/ The writing was really nice to read, which was a good thing considering the length of the book. I also liked the romance 🙂

Leave a Reply

